top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHope Happens Here

Ashley McCormick


When I was seven years old, my brother passed away from Neuroblastoma, of which is a type of children's cancer. This caused me to have severe anxiety and PTSD, both of which I still struggle with today. In elementary and middle school, my anxiety made it hard for me to do simple things, and it also caused me to be very hard on myself. I was put on medication, a kind of antidepressant that is concerned with anxiety, when I was 9. Nine years later, and I am still on these medications. I have gone to therapy regularly for nearly eleven years. Growing up, I had thought that something was wrong with me and only me, and that I was broken or damaged. Today, I am proud of the advancements I have made despite my anxiety. I'm a sophomore in college with a biology major, I'm on a varsity sports team, and I have amazing family and friends who support me in everything I do. Although I continue to struggle with my mental health, I know that in the end everything is going to be okay. The bottom line is; just know that you are not the only one struggling with mental health issues, and that it is okay to ask for help!

313 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page