top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHope Happens Here

Abby French


When I was 13 years old my mom had a psychotic breakdown, which eventually led to her being diagnosed with severe bipolar disorder. My mother’s struggles with mental illness made home a toxic place. When I myself began to struggle with depression, I felt alone. I had no one to talk to and therefore no safe outlet for my emotions. With no guidance, I began to self-harm to deal with my depression. I still struggle with depression today, but I handle it in much healthier ways. I cannot emphasize enough how much running has helped with my mental health. My mother also eventually found a balance of medications that work for her mental illness, and I am happy to say that our relationship has healed over the years. I am so lucky to have a supportive team, friends, and family to help me along and to remind me that I am never alone.

150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page